BACK to Articles




'The Visitor' album review

UFO: The Visitor / / SPV (PIAS Music)

The band formed in 1969 by vocalist Phil Mogg, guitarist Mick Bolton, bassist Pete Way and drummer Andy Parker. Originally taking the name 'Hocus Pocus' and shortly thereafter the group changed its name UFO in honor of the club London where they stopped. A couple of albums later and after the departure of Mick joined them his most charismatic guitar to date, although a young man of 19 years renowned musician named Michael Schenker Scorpions from the Germans. After editing in 74 "Phenomenon" the rest is history of heavy metal.

Now and after 19 studio albums and several live and compilation return to the fray with "The Visitor", the third recorded with Vinnie Moore after "You are here" 2004 and "The Monkey Puzzle" 2006. Since Michael was good to crowding at the first opportunity for his poor relationship with other guitarists Phil Mogg solo occupied the post but none came to make even a hint of shadow on the mythic figure of Germany ... ... .. to the entrance of Vinnie Moore, a guitarist as charismatic but not enough technical and feeling especially guitar to get over with dignity. UFO Unfortunately not going to be what they were and I do not edit them at this stage masterpieces like "Lights Out" but good will and hard place and this "The visitor" is a good album, moving halfway between the heavy and hard rock blues.

Bluesy guitars stand out in the initial "Saving Me". Exploring that sound more heavy rocker that lead to "On the Waterfront" with Paul Hammond of proving what was said. They continue with "Hell Driver" and its only full seventies and "Stop Breaking Down" which is most typically UFO and one of the best on the disc.

A song that might fit within the Southern rock is "Ready Rock" especially by the sound of slide guitar. The most boring and somewhat flojilla is "Living Proff" and move on to the disc where temazo is incredibly good the initial single "Can not Buy a Thrill," a very melodic song where Phil is immense and no less great is Vinnie. The ballad comes from the hand of "Forsaken" without being a marvel fulfills its mission and where Mr Mogg once again shows that although it takes more than 40 years and likes the gap tipple over the account, your vocal cords are still in good shape.

With a sharp guitars pure heavy metal begins "Villains & Thieves" with the keyboard of Paul adorning the song and taking it to a rockier terrain. It is a delight to contrast the metal guitar and Vinnie Paul rock keyboard. Closed with another piece of pretty heavy as is "Stranger in town".

An album where all the musicians deliver perfectly. Although the appearance of Phil Moog is somewhat cadaverous today still has a flawless voice. Is missing Pete Way's bass could not record the disc because of an illness. Honestly I can not imagine a UFO without Michael Schenker but hey, a lack of good bread and cakes are much Vinnie Moore Vinnie Moore, I think that could have no better substitute. Paula Raymond at the other guitar and keyboard and drummer Andy Parker to dignify the final finish.

Andrew Horrillo

01. Saving Me
02. On The Waterfront
03. Hell Driver
04. Stop Breaking Down
05. Rock Ready
06. Living Proof
07. Can not Buy A Thrill
08. Forsaken
09. Villains & Thieves
10. Stranger In Town

Added date: Thursday, July 16th, 2009
Written by: Andrew Horrillo

copyright 2009



BACK to Articles